Coulthard and D’Alberto taken Pirtek Enduro Cup lead

Coulthard and D’Alberto taken Pirtek Enduro Cup lead
October 8, 2017 | 11:23 pm | Author: Steven Wright

He doesn’t just lead the driver’s championship but his third place at Bathurst has put Fabian Coulthard and co-driver Tony D’Alberto in the lead in the Pirtek Endurance Cup heading into Gold Coast in two weeks.

The Pirtek Endurance Cup contest the Sandown 500, Bathurst 1000 and the Gold Coast 600 to see who’s the most consistent endurance pairing that year.

Craig Lowndes and Warren Luff won it in the first year, Whincup and Dumbrell won it the following year in 2014, In 2015 saw Luff win it for the second time but with Walkinshaw driver Garth Tander. Then Van Gisbergen and Premat won it last year.

The #12 Shell V-Power Falcon finished fifth in the Sandown 500 but the podium finish at Mount Panorama elevated the unlikely duo above Sandown 500 victors Cameron Waters and Richie Stanaway.

The previous enduro cup leaders finished a disappointing 16th after a late race crash, sees them tied in 2nd place with teammates Chaz Mostert and Steve Owen.

The Pirtek Endurance Cup concludes at the Vodafone Gold Coast 600 which consists of two 300km races that Whincup and Van Gisbergen has dominated in previous years.


2017 Pirtek Endurance Cup Standings:

# Driver Make Points
4Van Gisbergen/CampbellHolden570
View All